Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   997 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/997-forum-113/)
-   -   Replacing 3M stone guards on rear fenders (https://rennlist.com/forums/997-forum/523321-replacing-3m-stone-guards-on-rear-fenders.html)

dustoff6 09-10-2009 06:31 PM

Replacing 3M stone guards on rear fenders

Has anyone replace their 3M clear plastic stone guards
How do you do it
Help
ray

Edgy01 09-10-2009 07:30 PM

The best way as I understand it is with a hair dryer or heat gun. Soften things up, and then start pulling.

Many recommend the clear bra material as a replacement. Many of those guys have the templates for the fenders.

dustoff6 09-10-2009 07:36 PM

thanks I am just learning how to use rennlist
found alot of comments on 3M stone guard replacement
so I will try it myself
thanks
ray

rijowysock 09-10-2009 08:15 PM

i pulled mine off when i got the car.. came off clean.. not going to replace.

nosubt2 09-11-2009 12:37 AM

stone guard removal

if is difficult to remove go to a auto body supply shop and buy a gum ereaser that attaches to a drill and use it to remove the guard. 3M adhesive remover will take the residue off.

Tom Trew 09-11-2009 09:30 AM

I just replaced one last week. It pulled off very easily, just start in one corner and pull slowly, no need for a heat gun. I used 3M Adhesive Remover to clean the small amount of gum left behind along with the wax that had built up around the edges. Putting the new one on is easy too. Just spray on some soapy water (a couple of drops of dish washing soap in some water) wetting both the new guard and the fender. Lightly put it in place and slide it around until you have it where you want it. You then need a nice squeegee to push the water out. I use a body filler spreader, but any decent plastic flexible squeegee should work.

Premier 09-11-2009 01:54 PM