Notices
997 Forum 2005-2012
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Since the 997.2 is taking more of a tiptronic approach...

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2008, 04:59 PM
GATSBY
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Since the 997.2 is taking more of a tiptronic approach...

will this car even be respected? I have been to 2 dealers and all the 997.2s are all tiptronic. i have yet to see one in manual.

are these days done for the 911 enthusiast?
Old 12-24-2008, 05:08 PM
RED HORSE
Race Car

Received 128 Likes on 70 Posts

Not really fair to characterize PDK as a Tiptronic. The only think it has in common with a Tip is the lack of a clutch pedal.
Old 12-24-2008, 05:10 PM
Crazy Canuck
Race Director

Received 218 Likes on 108 Posts

PDK is damn good. As a daily driver I'd consider it.

As a weekend car I'd still prefer a manual.
Old 12-24-2008, 05:14 PM
GATSBY
Intermediate

Originally Posted by RED HORSE
Not really fair to characterize PDK as a Tiptronic. The only think it has in common with a Tip is the lack of a clutch pedal.
no clutch = casket closed on the enthusiasts, end of an era.. LOVE how porsche did this quietly... only recourse is to load up on the used 993s
Old 12-24-2008, 05:23 PM
GATSBY
Intermediate

i am just so tired of it.. the 997 was a return to the knuckle roots of the 993 after the 996 was a complete disaster for porsche. now they go and add all this soft tiptronic garbage. after the 997 being the best selling 911 ever, youd think theyd stay course.

i cant be alone in this belief
Old 12-24-2008, 05:28 PM
RED HORSE
Race Car

Received 128 Likes on 70 Posts