Sponsored by:

Supercharger VS Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 02:34 PM
HIGHSURVEY
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Supercharger VS Turbo

Pardon my ignorance on the subject but from what I have been able to gather supercharging an engine seems like a more efficient way to substatially boost HP. It seems to do the same/similar thing as a turbocharged system w/o the lag that seems to accompany the turbo system. As such I am wondering why Porsche remains loyal to this system to the exclusion of trying something new. I see that independent suppliers are producing superchargers for installation on 911 engines. I also have not heard many reports on satisfaction (or not) with these new systems. Obviously strapping on a non stock component will cause all sorts of problems vis a vis warranty (read void) but I wonder why Porsche has never tried it themselves.
Old 08-03-2007, 03:16 PM
Dr_KarlB
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Im no expert also, but putting on my Scientist/engineer hat i would guess:

Super charger takes power away as it is driven of the crankshaft directly. It has a parasitic effect.
Turbo uses the gas thats blown out the back anyway.

Supercharger boost will be linked to the engine revs...
Turbo boost is linked to the gas you give the engine... (well approx anyway)

But i could be totally wrong too :-)
Old 08-03-2007, 04:27 PM
911Dave
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Supercharging is very effective, but much less efficient than turbocharging. Aftermarket companies offer supercharging kits not because it's better, but because it's relatively easy to supercharge an engine through modification. It's far more difficult and expensive to add a turbocharger.
Old 08-03-2007, 05:47 PM
HIGHSURVEY
Track Day