Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Handling differences- C4 vs C4S?

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007, 03:23 PM
chuckla
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Handling differences- C4 vs C4S?

Has anyone driven both in recent year models and noted any significant differences in how they drive and handle?
Old 07-19-2007, 03:36 PM
Vitamin_J
Rennlist Member

I'm no expert, but yes I did drive both. The power band is different but markedly unnoticeable in my opion for regular driving.

Handling, to me is negligeable. This is only about 10 miles test drive in each car. I purchased the Targa4 in lie of the Targa4S as the performance difference didn't justify the extra few bucks.

I'm sure that others will disagree. Just one man's opinion.
Old 07-19-2007, 04:14 PM
dstrimbu
Burning Brakes

Agreed with J. I've had about one hour in a C4 vs about 300 hours in my C4S. All of the "fours" handle pretty much the same, as the interaxle, et al is the same. Of course, the tires are slightly narrower in the rear and that will be noticeable if you're _really_ attuned.

I personally love the way that the power flows in the 4S... I can slip the rear end and catch it neatly when the torque flows to the front. The 4 didn't have quite as much "grunt" but overall, they were very equal if you kept the tach up an extra thousand "Rs" or so in the 4 versus the 4S.

I will also postulate that the difference in the torque curves for the 3.6 vs the 3.8 will affect power transfer, since the 4/4S transfer case is viscous and requires rear wheel slippage to transfer power. The 4 seemed to be happier up in the higher rev range than the 4S, which was content to "putt" down below 4-5k. The 3.6 really woke up above 4.5k and ran off the tach with vigor...

I like the low-down torque of the 3.8, but I also like the "rev-happiness" of the 3.6. I guess the X51 is the only viable solution to this conundrum. Next time, maybe...