Sponsored by:

997 looks great

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2004, 10:13 PM
nyca
Drifting

Received 937 Likes on 522 Posts
Default 997 looks great

saw the car in person today, really sharp. I never considered buying a Porsche before. Some of the more heavily optioned S models are out of my price range, but the basic 3.6L car with a few options looks promising when compared to an M3 for example. I liked the 18" wheels actually, I thought the car retained a taut, trim appearance with those.

for a newbie, the ordering codes seem quite confusing. all these leather options, its hard to figure out what you get with each one.

can you typically order a car to your exact specifications (if you are willing to wait for delivery)?
Old 08-28-2004, 10:34 PM
rjl
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Like you I am new to the Porsche world having come over from a C5 Corvette. The car in person is awesome I got the full leather on my 997 and hope to get it in the next 3 weeks ... i agree the options are very confusing.....but its fun
Old 08-28-2004, 11:23 PM
nyca
Drifting

so, what does "full leather" give you? leather doors, dash, sun visors, instrument surround, dash trim? which steering wheel are you getting? what exterior/interior color are you getting?
Old 08-29-2004, 08:54 AM
Senator
8th Gear

In the UK its almost impossible to buy a brand new Porsche off the dealer forecourt as the dealers are not allowed to buy cars on spec, they can only order against a customer deposit.

Occasionally they put in phantom orders or you can buy their demonstrator or you can get a cancelled order but more usual is to put in an order to your exact specification and wait eons for the thing to be built to your order. My 997s is going to be a november build and should be ready for me to collect from the factory early in Jan '05.