Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Talk to me about PSS9 (and other) street coilover tuning - little DE use

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2021, 04:52 PM
texass4
Racer

Received 168 Likes on 87 Posts
Default Talk to me about PSS9 (and other) street coilover tuning - little DE use

I've done some reading over the years and always thought about suspension tuning on a number of cars I've owned (multiple Audi S4s, 997.1 C2S, 987.1S, etc) but have never done anything about it. Even thought of a mild lift on my daily 4Runner. I haven't because I subscribe to the idea that I'm no engineer, my parts aren't sufficiently worn as to really NEED and upgrade, and the project would squarely be a "want" not a "need" and I don't want to jeopardize the car's intended handling character too drastically. That said, I now have a 997.2 base 6mt coupe (non-PASM) with 18" Carrera IV wheels. I've always thought the Carrera II S 19" wheel is the ideal look in my mind and now that I'm close to a new set of tires, I'm thinking about getting a set and getting to work. Problem is I feel it really needs a subtle drop to make things look correct.

Use case: street only, zero track. I have another car that I whip around the track, so I'm looking for excellent street manners. I don't think I want to go aftermarket spring only, but may be talked into it. Good quality coilovers strike me as being a better solution for the aesthetics, ride, and handling means do the complete solution - even if it costs much more. This car will be with me for the long haul.