Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Motor mount replacement - complete!

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2019, 12:11 PM
LittleBitBent
Instructor

Received 31 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Motor mount replacement - complete!

After reading how easy this is to do, and doing a bit of research on the various options, I thought I would take a giant leap of faith and replace my motor mounts. I am not a good mechanic. Brake pads and rotors are the extent of my ability, and even that is marginal. So doing something to my engine was downright scary. But, like everything I have discovered with my 08 C2S, it’s really easy to work on. So, I took the plunge and ordered a set of Function First v2 mounts. The car has 105,000 km on it.

First of all, before I did anything, I measured the distance from the bottom of the bumper to the top of the tailpipes. I didn’t think they were sagging, but I really didn’t know. I had no frame of reference. As you can see below, they are between 3-4 cm below the bumper.

I didn’t bother to put the car up on jack stands, as I figured regardless of whether the car is on its wheels or on jack stands, neither matters, as I’m lifting the engine. I put my trolley jack directly on the engine harness aft of the oil pan. By doing that, I avoided the need to put a piece of wood on the jack. I lifted the engine about three inches, just enough to take the weight off.

After taking the air filter out, I loosened the top two bolts on the mount - 15mm socket if memory serves. Then it was time to go underneath and loosen the 18mm bolt holding the pin.

TIP: If you take one of those little led flashlights (like from costco), turn it on, and just sit it on top of the two tailpipes, it will perfectly illuminate the 18mm nut.