Airbag and Other Coding - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums



Airbag and Other Coding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2017, 03:44 PM   #1
Jferrante
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 581
Default Airbag and Other Coding

Well I got excited when i heard the Durametric Pro was able to code out Airbag, seatbelt and other errors however quickly found out this is only good for 997 and later. Is there anyway to code these out on our 996's? The car is a track car but I wouldnt mind getting rid of some of the warnings.
Thanks for any input
Jferrante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 02:52 PM   #2
32krazy!
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
32krazy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,630
Default

dealership or shop with pwis software
32krazy! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 04:29 PM   #3
powdrhound
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
powdrhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,657
Default

Joe, I don't believe the dealer can and even if they could, for legality reasons won't. You simply need to put a resistor in line to fool the car into thinking the airbag is there.

For the seatbelt, you can splice some wires or plug in a dummy buckle if you want to retain a 3 point, which you probably won't.
powdrhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:28 PM   #4
Jferrante
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by powdrhound View Post
Joe, I don't believe the dealer can and even if they could, for legality reasons won't. You simply need to put a resistor in line to fool the car into thinking the airbag is there.

For the seatbelt, you can splice some wires or plug in a dummy buckle if you want to retain a 3 point, which you probably won't.
Yea from my understanding PWIS cant - my seatbelts actually aren't throwing a code and they are fully removed...the airbag failure is the one that is bugging me but I also removed the Airbags and airbag module so was curious if it could be cleared similar to how the 997's can be cleared.
Jferrante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:38 PM   #5
powdrhound
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
powdrhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jferrante View Post
Yea from my understanding PWIS cant - my seatbelts actually aren't throwing a code and they are fully removed...the airbag failure is the one that is bugging me but I also removed the Airbags and airbag module so was curious if it could be cleared similar to how the 997's can be cleared.
Hmmm.. I know if you disconnect the seat belt receptacle that will throw an airbag code. For each airbag removed you would have to install a resistor, or just take some black tape and stick it over the airbag light in the dash, or disassemble the dash and remove the bulb. I would just stick a piece of black tape over the lights you don't want to see. Easy peasy, and cheap...
powdrhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:48 PM   #6
Jferrante
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by powdrhound View Post
Hmmm.. I know if you disconnect the seat belt receptacle that will throw an airbag code. For each airbag removed you would have to install a resistor, or just take some black tape and stick it over the airbag light in the dash, or disassemble the dash and remove the bulb. I would just stick a piece of black tape over the lights you don't want to see. Easy peasy, and cheap...
Right that doesn't cure the airbag error every start up....no big deal just seeing if there were any resolutions for this.
Jferrante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:59 PM   #7
powdrhound
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
powdrhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jferrante View Post
Right that doesn't cure the airbag error every start up....no big deal just seeing if there were any resolutions for this.
Correct, you'd need to plug the wire from the passenger seatbelt receptacle into the connector that is under the seat. That will keep the airbag light error from coming on assuming you have the resistors installed at each airbag location. You will need to do the same with the drivers sea and also splice the wires from the drivers seat belt receptacle so you do not keep getting the seatbelt warning chime. I just plug in a dummy male seatbelt into the receptacle since I still have the receptacle and 3 point belts there. Hope that makes sense.
powdrhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airbag light not resetting APristi 991 3 02-28-2017 08:48 AM
Need a little help with airbag codes 8037 8038 after steering wheel removal. vespam5 997 Forum 2 01-05-2017 07:07 PM
How to tell if airbag system is functional? Dr Mitch 964 Forum 6 11-07-2016 10:24 PM
Durametric not clearing airbag light codes randomly? awfilms 997 Forum 8 11-02-2016 07:00 PM
.1 Durametric Coding Error Codes CosmosMpower 997 GT2/GT3 Forum 7 05-29-2015 11:30 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: