Sponsored by:

Plenum Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2016, 02:52 PM
Richard.
Rennlist Member

Received 196 Likes on 129 Posts
Default Plenum Question

Ok so I have AWE Intercoolers and a 3 inch Y pipe both of which seem to make very little difference in the real world. Now on Cayman/Boxster GTS the first thing tuners do is change the Plenum for more air, whereas the consensus seems to be on a 996 TT it also adds little, is this simple a Turbo vs non Turbo issue ??
Old 03-06-2016, 01:54 AM
mcbit
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

My experience of forum anecdotal evidence is that there is skepticism regarding the efficacy of plenum use in NA applications whilst with FI applications the feedback is more positive.

I have no experience or opinion on the use in NA cars, but in my own 996t with 16/24 hybrids and a 1.1 bar tune, it is clear to me that rev range over which I experience max boost has increased significantly since fitting the plenum.
Old 03-06-2016, 03:34 AM
powdrhound
Rennlist Member

Received 1,942 Likes on 1,131 Posts

Stock plenum, 91 octane, 1.2bar

[url=https://flic.kr/p/vqFY49]
Old 03-06-2016, 04:36 AM
mcbit
Drifting

I haven't done a dyno run on mine but before installation I used to get a brief peak of 1.1 bar during the run to max revs. Now it will run at 1.1bar from around 3,750 to redline and will continue at 1.1 bar through the (tip) gear change.
Old 03-06-2016, 08:29 AM
SteveMFr
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Are you sure you rember this the right way around? Word from Porsche is the exact opposite: NA motors need all the help they can get in increasing induction efficiency, whereas on a turbo it does not matter as much if radii are blended or obstructions removed because the intake charge is being forced anyway.

That said, IMO the IPD plenum is snake oil on any Porsche motor.