Notices
996 Turbo Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advantages/Disadvantages PCCB in Street Use?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2003, 09:50 AM
W8MM
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 79 Likes on 36 Posts
Question Advantages/Disadvantages PCCB in Street Use?

Since I'm a tech worshiper at heart, I'm toying with adding PCCB to my new '04 TT Cab order.

I'm curious to know about any clear advantages or problems that any current users of ceramic brakes can point out to me.

Particularly;

1) Are there any warm-up issues in cold weather or during the first stop of the day? I've had a couple of close calls in the old days using race pads on the street -- way scary to the unsuspecting.

2) How's the brake dust? The wheels on my '01 TT Coupe get annoyingly coated with black dust within a few days after I wash it. Less dust could be viewed as a labor saving device. The dealer service manager says that while PCCB may produce less dust, or at least less VISIBLE dust, the aerodynamics of the brake rotor and wheel rim suck road dirt onto the rims quite efficiently. Any comments?

3) PCCB pads and rotors are alleged to last seemingly forever compared to conventional ferrous rotors and normal pads. I'm not looking for the break-even point in cost of service vs. cost of acquisition of PCCB, just some user feedback.

Thanks in advance for any and all info.

Cordially,
Old 08-08-2003, 12:35 PM
GuyR
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Short answers in my experience:

1. They work fine from cold, though better when warm.

2. My wheels do not get dirty at all - they are great from this point of view. I don't see how they can suck more dirt onto wheels as they have same wheels (if on TT) and the discs are just slightly larger (by 20mm diameter), rather than a different shape.

3. I guess this can only be proven over time. I would not, however, be wanting to replace these at my own expense.

Guy
Old 08-08-2003, 04:43 PM
FixedWing
Burning Brakes