Sponsored by:

996TT exhaust swap DIY questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2012, 01:17 AM
KC_Michael
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 996TT exhaust swap DIY questions

I bought a used exhaust system and am considering doing the swap myself. I looked for some DIY help but couldn't find anything. I have a few questions:
1) If I decide to let someone else do this, what will an indy shop charge for this swap? (turbo back, not swapping headers).
2) Is bumper removal necessary (recommended)?
3) Any tricks or special things you can tell me to make the job easier?
4) Do OEM tips fit on a Milltek system?
5) Should I replace the OEM mounting hardware while I'm doing this project? If so, what specifically should I acquire?
I've done plugs, coils, f-pipe, diverter valves, brake pads, brake fluid replacement, brake ducts, bumper removal, oil changes. . . so I'm not a total newb.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 11-17-2012, 03:30 AM
fly2low
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

it's been a couple years, but as I remember
bumper does not have to come off
put the car on jack stands
used the floor jack and a 2x4 to support the exhaust while loosening everything up
the lugs to the turbos are a bear too break free, overnight soaking with your favorite penetrating oil overnight is a good idea
oxygen sensors are a pain to deal with, but you have the experience from what you have done
might be a good time to swap out the sensors
figure 4 hours
really not a big deal
swapped from stock to Europipe to an X system, and I don't have much more experience than you
I did keep small children away as I exercised my vocabulary
Old 11-17-2012, 09:36 AM
jcalhoun
Instructor

Biggest problem that my shop ran into was breaking free the bolts that connect to the turbos. One bolt broke off and they had to drill it out. Pulling off the airbox helps to gain access as well.
Old 11-17-2012, 04:04 PM
crazyfrog
Instructor

I have just done mine last saturday .