Some Advice on 996TT

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2010, 10:57 AM
Todds911
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some Advice on 996TT

Hi,

I am new to this particular forum. I sold my 83 911 Targa and my 99 996 Aero recently, and am considering the 996TT. I don't have much experience with the 996TT, but over at the 996 forum they use to say they are "bullet proof" and come from the same engine case as the old air cooled, and therefore did not suffer some of the issues with the MK1 996 non-turbo (perceived or not). Are they common problems to be aware of? Any significant improvements in going from 2001 up to 2004?

Also, is there a mileage concern here? I see them out there with > 100k miles in the high $20k's and low mileage cars in the mid $60k's (usually the new 2004's). Any thoughts would be helpful as I get started on my quest for the perfect car!

Thanks,
Todd
Old 06-11-2010, 11:24 AM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

The 996 Turbo is perhaps the worlds most reliable supercar.
Rennlist member T2 has over 250K miles on his 03 996 Turbo X50, driven year round in New England.

The 996 Turbo does have the Metzger GT1 derived dry sump engine...perhaps the best production engine ever designed by Porsche. It does not have RMS issues like the wet sump 996 Carrera engine.

Early 01s had front bumperettes (warts....thanks DOT) and solid spoke wheels...these were phased out early on in the rollout.
02's introduced the glove box, Bose audio and subject to debate, frame stiffening enhancements.

Lots of information regarding the model years, but they have been very reliable and have had normal/minor TSB's over the years.
Old 06-11-2010, 11:25 AM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Also check out the thread stuck at the top of the fourm.
https://rennlist.com/forums/996-turb...questions.html

The first post has links to 2 very useful threads/discussions for first time buyers.