Notices
996 Turbo Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering a 996TT - What should I be aware of?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2007, 10:56 AM
cohare
Racer

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Considering a 996TT - What should I be aware of?

So, I currently own a 99 c2 aero and I really enjoy it. So far I have upgraded it with 19" carrera S wheels, PSE, intake and Navigation but it still has left me wanting a little more power and all wheel drive for the wet and snow we occasionally get here in Maryland.

I am aware of the RMS issues and grenading engines associated with the 996 NA but are their anythings I should be aware of with the TT HONESTLY?

For example - rebuilding turbos (what mileage), expensive maintence items, things to look for in a used 01-02 TT with 30K (I heard about the 2nd gear pop out), what about the over rev?

Thanks for all of your help as I am very new to the 996TT world!
Old 01-19-2007, 04:19 PM
Tom Pepper
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I will be interested in any feedback from the 996TT learned, too.. I also am looking at buying an 01 tip turbo with 25,000 miles. I understand two of the significant worries, namely the 2nd gear pop-out and the type 2 over revs are diminished with the automatic gear box. It also seems the 964/GT1 derived motor is very strong and reliable, with fewer problems like RMS and engine grenading. I can live with no glove box.

Good luck to both of us,

Tom
Old 01-19-2007, 05:18 PM
tdub
Instructor

The biggest worry is that you'll be smiling so much driving it that it may cause permanent wrinkling of the face. Oh, and the acceleration will push your eyeballs back inside your head. That looks kinda funny sometimes.

TW

02 996TT
99 Vehicross
03 MDX
f350 4x4
Gone: lotsa 911's
Old 01-20-2007, 10:29 PM
C DeVito
Racer