Interested in 996TT

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2006, 05:21 PM
archon007
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interested in 996TT

Hello Everyone
I'm interested in 01-02 996 Turbo. I've been driving a Honda 02 S2000 past 2 years and want to "move-up" if you will. I was debating between an 03-04 NSX and an 01-02 996 Turbo. The thing is I use to have a NSX. While I do have rather fond memories of the car I also want to try something new. I've always been fascinated with the Porsche TT so now I think I would like to go ahead and get one.
I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to Porsches. Now I understand there are no RMS issues with turbos? Any other major things to check beforehand? I'll do the PPI for sure, but any extra info/links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 11-13-2006, 05:51 PM
bbywu
Instructor

I was in the same position, recently purchasing a 2002 996 TT with an X50 option. I elected for a used 2002 996 TT with 8500 miles and certified preowned warranty. I am nothing but stunned at the performance and handling of a car that is now nearly 4 years old.

Try and find a car with a CPO warranty. If not, make sure you have a dealership do a prepurchase inspection...Should cost about $125. Specifically asked them to check if the ECU has been rewritten (modified chip flashing) and the number of over rev's, type 1 and 2, that have been recorded. This is probably the best estimation on whether or not the car has been modified...

- bob
Old 11-13-2006, 06:15 PM
archon007
7th Gear

Thanks for the reply. Does the RMS issue apply to turbos?
Old 11-13-2006, 06:55 PM
RdRunner
Instructor

Originally Posted by archon007
Hello Everyone