Sponsored by:

Baby needs a new pair of shoes

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2016, 03:09 PM
Backmarker
Burning Brakes

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Baby needs a new pair of shoes

After months of waiting Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tires are back in the US in 996 GT3 sizes. I got mine ordered, mounted and I installed them today. Will post driving impressions.

To start, here are my yellow HRE wheels. I have been running these for about 3 years and am going to switch to my bright silver HREs today. (These are model 547 three piece forged BTW)

I ran my Nittos on track and street, down to the cords. They just get stickier as they wear. However late spring rain had me biting my nails as I couldn't drive the car in the wet on these. I actually almost got stuck at work Friday when it rained

The PSC2 tires mounted on the bright wheels ready to go

I have studs on my car to protect the PCCBs when taking wheels on and off. These are Deman rotors in front though, you can see the surface cracking. I don't recommend these rotors and will be going Girodisc or Brembo soon in front (I run PCCB in back on the street). You can also see the deep full tread on the PSC2 here:

There she is mounted up and ready for some careful tire break in miles on the greasy new shoes. After this it's time for a wash along with her roommate, and some center caps (removed as these wheels had Hoosier R6s for track duty before).

Roommates:

Old 05-09-2016, 04:05 AM
spiller
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 341 Likes on 212 Posts

Interested to hear what you think about the PSC2s on the street. I've been considering them too as i'm too scared to run the Nittos in the rain but with the amount of camber on my car i'm concerned i'd just be burning $$ for street tyres. Your car looks cool BTW, is it Lapis Blue or Midnight??
Old 05-09-2016, 08:58 AM
himself
Rennlist Member

Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts

Originally Posted by spiller