Notices

Engine start with clutch?

 
Old 04-23-2016, 11:06 AM
  #1  
jlasuncion
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 192
Default Engine start with clutch?

Does the 6 gt3 mark 2 need to depress clutch pedal to start engine?

Just curious when Porsche stopped allowing engine to be started without need for clutch or brakes.

I have gt3 mk1 and I can start it with just the key.

Last edited by jlasuncion; 04-23-2016 at 11:49 AM. Reason: Wrong word
jlasuncion is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 11:48 AM
  #2  
jlasuncion
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 192
Default

I'm sorry I meant need to press clutch pedal
jlasuncion is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 12:55 PM
  #3  
Macster
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 17,899
Default

Originally Posted by jlasuncion View Post
Does the 6 gt3 mark 2 need to depress clutch pedal to start engine?

Just curious when Porsche stopped allowing engine to be started without need for clutch or brakes.

I have gt3 mk1 and I can start it with just the key.
Pretty sure all Porsche manual transmission equipped cars require the clutch to be depressed before the engine will start.

Can't recall when this became the "norm", but it has been some time. While I don't recall my 1971 Datsun 510 having this requirement, and I do not recall if my '89 Temp had it either, my '96 Mustang GT had this requirement. So too did my 2001 Camaro, my 2002 Boxster, 2002 VW Golf, 2006 GTO, 2008 Cayman S, and 2003 Turbo.

If you have a modern Porsche equipped with a manual transmission and can start the engine without depressing the clutch either the clutch interlock switch has been bypassed or the switch has possibly failed in such a way to allow the engine to start. I think the bypass explanation the more likely one.
Macster is offline  
Old 04-23-2016, 11:54 PM
  #4  
blotto649
User
 
blotto649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Near Picton, ON
Posts: 221
Default

No clutch in required on my '88. Must be depressed on the '04.
blotto649 is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 12:35 AM
  #5  
jlasuncion
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 192
Default

Thanks guys.

I didn't modify the car to do that. I guess something to do with having cable throttle vs e-throttle . Maybe the one reason mk1 gt3 was never imported in the US.

I checked with my friends who have 993s and also not required.
jlasuncion is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 10:27 AM
  #6  
Dervish
User
 
Dervish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 672
Default

Not needed in my '04 but I'm in the UK so maybe legislation thing.
Dervish is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 11:25 AM
  #7  
rodneyr
User
 
rodneyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Darien, CT
Posts: 808
Default

Not needed in my 87, but you have to remember to put in neutral otherwise you know what will happen - car jerks forward and stalls.

Required in my 6GT3.
rodneyr is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 02:56 PM
  #8  
christallon
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
christallon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,481
Default

I zip tied my micro switch so it is always in the open position so I don't need to use the clutch. I like starting my car through the window. I have trained myself to leave the car in neutral. I come from the early car world where these micro switches never existed.
christallon is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 08:36 PM
  #9  
jlasuncion
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 192
Default

I also like being able to start car from the outside to warm it up it also makes proper use of the ignition position being on the outer side.
jlasuncion is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 12:06 AM
  #10  
spiller
User
 
spiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,387
Default

No need for me on my '04 but also a RHD non NA car.
spiller is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 12:23 PM
  #11  
Aspen Autosports
Former Vendor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 436
Default

Based on PET it looks like the ROW cars have the switch in 2005 and up, the USA spec cars had them sooner.

That switch is a very common failure point and when it fails a lot of people like to bypass it. Very simple procedure.
Aspen Autosports is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 06:47 PM
  #12  
Rob S
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 586
Default

There have been various posts in the past about the potential perils of depressing the clutch during startup, which tends to load the main (No 1) crankshaft thrust bearing. The collective wisdom, if I recall correctly, is to bypass the interlock switch, if there is one, and start the car in neutral without pressing on the clutch pedal.
Rob S is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:24 PM
  #13  
powdrhound
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
powdrhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,436
Default

The clutch to start is only a US DOT requirement. Not present on ROW cars AFAIK
powdrhound is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:30 PM
  #14  
ezdriver
User
 
ezdriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 890
Default

Originally Posted by jlasuncion View Post
Thanks guys.

I didn't modify the car to do that. I guess something to do with having cable throttle vs e-throttle . Maybe the one reason mk1 gt3 was never imported in the US.

I checked with my friends who have 993s and also not required.
My '96 993 required clutch pressed to start.
ezdriver is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 10:07 PM
  #15  
driveline
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin
Posts: 94
Default

My 96 993 does not. Now I feel compelled to check the switches. Not that I would change it. I agree on the compressive thrust bearing wear.

I actually like to bump start the truck, doesn't side load the main bearing when the starter is engaged.

Either way it is designed to use it.
driveline is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Engine start with clutch?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: