Sponsored by:

Oh, So That's What a Sway Bar Does

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2008 | 12:12 PM
BrokeAss
Driver Carries No Cash
Rennlist Member

Default Oh, So That's What a Sway Bar Does

As I've mentioned in a post or two here, I'm new to GT3 ownership with all of 3 days of track time in my '04. It's a HUGE step forward from the 964 I've been pedaling for the last 6 years. So with that out of the way, let's get to the amusing story.

I'm was running at Sebring and having a great time! I noticed the inside edge of the rear tires was wearing faster than the outer. One side looked a little worse than other, so I decided to swap tires left-to-right since I couldn't flip 'em on the rims trackside.

So I hop in the car and grid up for what will be the last run of the day. Everything is good, out of the pits and into the carousel. Heading towards the ninety degree left-hander in turn 3, I hit the brakes and car jumps unpredictably.
"What the hell was that?"
I rationalize that the car is just "nervous" because I swapped the tires left-to-right - they're cold and going the "wrong" direction. Now heading into the hairpin at 7, I get on the brakes and the car acts a like the ball in a roulette wheel - you know it's gonna stop, but have no idea where. The rear of the car was dancing all over the place and I had to release some break pressure and chase it halfway across the racing surface to keep it under me.
(How come we don't have a smilie for puckered butt cheeks?)
Back into the pits - I'm done for now. This thing is scaring me! Who'da thunk swapping tires would make a car so nervous?

Turns out the rest of the day was rained out and I didn't get any more time on the track, so the car goes onto the trailer before I have chance to tinker with it some more.

Later that week back at the "crack house" they have the car up on a lift and the rear sway bar is dangling. Doohhhh!