Sponsored by:

Insurance increase

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2017, 11:31 PM
Andrewck
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Insurance increase

My semi-annual premium went up $50. I called my insurer (State Farm) to ask about the rate hike since I had no at-fault accidents, didn't move, didn't change coverage, etc. My agent told me that late last year State Farm actuaries determined the 996 cars (as a class) were due for a premium increase. I again asked why (high theft rates, increase in accidents, above average rate of hail damage???) and was told they didn't have viability into the issue. Has anybody else seen their premium increases in the last 6 months? Who is your insurer and what kind of rate hike did you see?
Old 05-20-2017, 11:56 PM
Splitting Atoms
Burning Brakes

Received 70 Likes on 57 Posts

I have been using State Farm since at least 1985. I currently have a 996, BMW X5, 2008 Mazda3, 2010 Mazda3, Toyota 4Runner, and F250 Super Duty insured with comprehensive and collision. My family has not had any accidents or tickets in the past two years, but our insurance has increased on every vehicle (except the 996 that I just bought), even though they are getting older. On average I would say $20 every six months for each vehicle. If you look at State Farm's recent financial statements, their costs for insurance payouts have gone up significantly and their earnings have gone down. If it were not for their investment earnings, they would have had a loss this past year. I think there are a lot of individuals and lawyers gaming the insurance companies, but that's a discussion for a different thread.
Old 05-21-2017, 12:35 AM
Andrewck
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I hadn't even thought of looking at their 10k. Interesting you've seen a rate consistent rate increase, this is my first in a couple of years
Old 05-21-2017, 12:50 AM
Splitting Atoms
Burning Brakes