996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Do Turbo Brakes swap to 996 C2?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2003, 03:14 PM
sennasixty8
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Lightbulb Do Turbo Brakes swap to 996 C2?

I have the opportunity to get the brake calipers off a lightly used 2002 Turbo, and I want to know if the brake calipers will simply "SWAP" over to my existing system and brake discs, or should I expect a huge and expensive mess???

Thanks in advance
Old 11-12-2003, 03:39 PM
Carlos from Spain
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If I remember correctly it has come up before and you can swap if you get the Turbo front hub carriers and wheel bearings.
Old 11-12-2003, 03:43 PM
teflon_jones
Burning Brakes

the rotors are the same size (380/355mm F/R) and i don't think you need any extra mounting brackets. but i'm no expert on this...
Old 11-12-2003, 09:58 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 65 Likes on 49 Posts

Carlos is right,......

You need the Turbo front hub carriers and bearings since the Turbo caliper bolt spacing is wider.

Also, Turbo hub carriers are designed for the larger diameter Turbo struts and you'll need those as well.
Old 11-12-2003, 10:24 PM
Itzkirb
Rennlist Member

Received 824 Likes on 269 Posts

Wow, sounds like more work that expected.

#200 Post!
Old 11-12-2003, 11:56 PM
sennasixty8
Instructor

Unhappy Uh-Oh

Originally posted by Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
Carlos is right,......

You need the Turbo front hub carriers and bearings since the Turbo caliper bolt spacing is wider.

Also, Turbo hub carriers are designed for the larger diameter Turbo struts and you'll need those as well.
Interesting point guys....thanks STEVE for the heads up! Ive got the H&R coilovers, would that be a problem too!?!?!?

Old 11-13-2003, 12:28 AM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 65 Likes on 49 Posts