Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Need some advice - "affordable" repair M96 (donor motor?)

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2016, 12:47 PM
mp2day
Instructor

Received 67 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Need some advice - "affordable" repair M96 (donor motor?)

So I'm really pretty new to the P-world. I got a 2003 C4 in nice shape about a year ago and decided to do my 1st DE this fall. It was really awesome… until I got a funny shudder from the engine and the car died on the track.

Still not sure exactly what caused it/what went wrong… D-chunk? AOS fail? But at any rate, I have piston chunks in the pan. I am aware this is very NOT good and means the engine I have probably cannot be rebuilt. I am trying to figure out how to fix this thing that I'm still paying on, and I'm close to working out a financial solution (appears it will cost more than the car), but I'm still going to need to source a donor engine, then do LNE nickies, etc (prob a 3.8 or 4.0 build).

I've contacted LA dismantlers, and have a rough idea what a pulled engine will run. Not cheap. I'm leery of buying one on ebay. I guess I'm hoping someone here may have a suggestion that will get me back up & running and able to do DE's again with relative security that my engine isn't going to be likely to grenade again.

Suggestions…?
Old 11-06-2016, 01:14 PM
Vdubjetta02
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have read soo many threads from "Refreshed" engine builds costing $8k to brand new rebuilt motors costing $25k... I will be of no help in this thread, but many people will chime in I am sure
Old 11-06-2016, 01:21 PM
mp2day
Instructor

I'm planning to try to do it right. I've spoken with Jake Raby via email and two other experienced M96 builders who are local. I'm leaning with staying local. But I'm still probably at your high number.

Just waiting on the second mortgage...
Old 11-06-2016, 01:25 PM
Montychristo128
Pro