Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Just did PDX with 60 minutes hard driving, now what?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2015, 10:21 AM
Petersa9
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just did PDX with 60 minutes hard driving, now what?

I am very new to performance driving and Porsche maintenance. I just did a PDX event at the Milwaukee Mile last night where I did 60 minutes of all out racing. I am wondering what I should check and or change post event. I apologize if this is redundant to another posting. Here is where I am now:

- Oil change, last changed 2000 miles ago
- check brake pads
- Check tire pressures
- Check lug nut torque
- Coolant levels
- check tread depth
- Specific wear items, joints, etc....?

Still planning on replacing AOS and water pump time permitting.
Old 05-15-2015, 10:33 AM
alpine003
Banned

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

What tires/suspension/aero did you have and were you running clockwise or counter? What was your top speed?

If nothing was smoking after and idled and ran good, that's always a good sign. Did your oil level fall any after the run? Oil pressure still the same?

If doing high g left handed sweepers continuously, you could always inspect cylinder walls(esp 4-6) with borescope if you're paranoid.

Otherwise you're probably ok but I would plan on getting some track reinforcement if you plan on doing a lot of track events(upgraded baffle, second pump, accusump, Motorsport AOS, etc).
Old 05-15-2015, 06:07 PM
Petersa9
Rennlist Member

Bridstone Potenza S-02A's on stock C4S suspension. We did the oval and the infield road course, but it was 75% clockwise. Reached speeds around 115-120mph.

Oil level may have moved down a touch, but its negligible. Did consume 1.2 tanks of fuel though!

I was looking at the upgraded deep sump kit, but wasn't aware of a different baffle.

I am planning 2-6 events this year, no more, just don't have the time for it, not to mention dealing with all the ongoing maintenance.