996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

C4 Owners - Does your car pull right?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2003, 05:21 PM
smjjpres
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C4 Owners - Does your car pull right?

I am new to the C4s world. My car pulls to the right - slightly on the highway. I do not have to force the car to keep it straight - but if I take my hands off the wheel the car slides right.

Does anyone else have this problem? I was told that many 4's and turbos have this issue?

If anybody did have a similar problem, how was if fixed?
Old 08-01-2003, 05:30 PM
Palting
Nordschleife Master

Received 238 Likes on 153 Posts

I believe there was a thread on this earlier.

No, my car does not pull to the right, or left or anywhere. It surprised me, since most roads have a center crest and would therefore drift a car, any car, away from the crest. On the C4S, it doesn't matter whether the crest is to your right or left. You let go of the wheel, it should go straight.

Start with simple things. Tire pressures OK? Are your tires worn? Tire balance, notice any shudder at speed? Then have your favorite service shop check out the alignment. Never heard of bad viscous coupling, but who knows?

Now, stop letting go of the wheel!!!!
Old 08-01-2003, 05:34 PM
Paul S.
Pro

Received 96 Likes on 53 Posts
Default If it's not tires, then it's alignment.

Following an alignment I once had a tech tell me that the drifting (in my case to the right) was normal and within spec's. I told him that my C4 never did that prior to the alignment, and he said he could tweak the alignment some which he did. And it drove straight down the road, as it had before.

The 996 TT I have now is the same way--goes straight down the road at any speed.
Old 08-01-2003, 07:44 PM
santicua
Instructor