Sponsored by:

2004 996 stereo

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2014, 02:21 PM
996firsttime
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 996 stereo

Hi guys! I am a newbie. I just purchased 2004 996C2 Cab. with 26,000 miles on. Having read this forum over the years, I bought 5 year extended warranty to protect myself from RMS and IMS issues. Car came with premium sound system with Bose speakers. They are not bad. It is stock radio with one CD slot. I want to change to a new unit with bluetooth and streaming music (Pandora and Spotify) from iPhone 5s. I am looking at Kenwood, Pioneer, and Alphine for large tough screen units and standard size unit. A large touch screen unit will require relocating climate control unit and deleting CD holders which I don't mind as I don't listen to CD or FM. I usually stream music from iPhone.

Here is the issue. Two car audio shops I went said that since my current unit (radio, bose speakers (6), and amp behind the spare tire) uses fiber optic line, it is not comparable with the ones they sell (Kenwood, Pioneer, and Alphine, etc.). Here are two options they are proposing:

1. To keep the current bose speakers, they will bypass the existing amp and use the amp built in the new replacement unit. I think I may lose power and sound quality by bypassing the current amp. Am I correct? they are quoting about $600 to $800 including labor and harness, etc., depending on what new unit I buy.

2. Replace the whole thing (speakers, radio, and amp) with new unit, new amp., and new speakers (4) rather than 6 speakers. It will cost $1,500.

Question: is it true that new unit can't work with the existing amp due to usage of fiber optic line? Is there no new unit out there using fiber optic line?

Thank you very much for reading and your response.

As soon as I can figure out how to post pics, as all newbies are required to, I will post pics.

Last edited by 996firsttime; 04-04-2014 at 02:32 PM. Reason: typo
Old 04-04-2014, 02:29 PM
6ta1