Notices
996 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: LN Engineering

willwood trailer hitch install help

 
Old 12-09-2012, 07:11 PM
  #31  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

12v power is there already. (do 99s have the jumper box? in pic with the + on it) But you want 12v switched. Just curious why? The stop and taillights will work off the left taillight.
I have a leftover 6"x9" piece of the aluminized cloth heat shield material that I used. If that much will do the job for you it's yours.
Attached Images  
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 07:15 PM
  #32  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

6x9 is more than I need

A non switched power is ok as I think my wiring harness will turn itself on and off when needed only... Supposedly

But I tried, the hitch harness will not work at all if it does get 12v power .;(


Where do you find constant 12v in the rear ?
philooo is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 07:20 PM
  #33  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

on my 03 it's under the black cover with the + on it. Its where they tell you to jump the car from. That and the bolt that holds the aircleaner box to the chassis. in post 31 pic.
PM your address and I will send the heat shield tomorrow.
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:51 PM
  #34  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

Humm, I wonder but I have never seen that thing under my frunk... I have a 2003, may be it is different ?

I wonder if I should just wire as you say so the stop and tail light work of the left taillight, but I'd really like to have my turn signals I also prefer to use the special hitch harness, I assume it helps unload the tail lights circuits... or may be I am just putting too much faith on the wiring harness ...

But I have to admit the amount of wiring required for the small amount of time I will be towing may not be worth it.

FYI, that is the harness I bought
http://www.uhaul.com/MovingSupplies/...odule?id=13612
philooo is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:14 AM
  #35  
osteoman
User
 
osteoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 61
Default

Philoo,
Thanks for posting this thread as I ordered the WilWood hitch just last week and will be going through this same job between now and April as I get ready for the 2013 DE season.
Keep up the good work!
osteoman is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 10:46 AM
  #36  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

Originally Posted by philooo View Post
Humm, I wonder but I have never seen that thing under my frunk... I have a 2003, may be it is different ?

I wonder if I should just wire as you say so the stop and tail light work of the left taillight, but I'd really like to have my turn signals I also prefer to use the special hitch harness, I assume it helps unload the tail lights circuits... or may be I am just putting too much faith on the wiring harness ...

But I have to admit the amount of wiring required for the small amount of time I will be towing may not be worth it.

FYI, that is the harness I bought
http://www.uhaul.com/MovingSupplies/...odule?id=13612
It is in the engine compartment, passengers side.
Your harness is probably a four wire to three wire (with ground so 5 and 4)converter.
IE: From 3 separate lights Euro type; running, stop, turn, to 2 separate light US type; turn/stop, running.
You will have to pull the right turn signal wire from somewhere.

I haven't looked on the 996 but I bet you can open one of the wiring harnesses on the right of the engine compartment and find the wires that you need.
Ask on the GT3 forum. More guys have done the trailer hitch there.
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 11:01 AM
  #37  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

yeah my harness is working with both euro and us type of cars. May be if I found a better harness for euro vehicules I would not even need for it to be powered. I'll start hunting on google
philooo is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 11:06 AM
  #38  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

now that I am looking at those harness thing, I wonder if I even need a wiring harness box like I got, can I simply connect wired from the taillights directly to the hitch connector ?

Sorry about the dumb question but I am really not a trailer expert :S

That big box I bought might have just been made for more complex use of both US and Euro cars..?
philooo is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:48 PM
  #39  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

If your trailer has one light on each side with one bulb (with two filiments 1 = stop & turn and 1 = running lights) you will need the converter. Your car has separate stop and turn bulbs. If you hook the turn signals up both of the trailer stop lights will blink when you put a signal on. The converter figures that out for you.

Another way to make things work is to add another light to each side of the trailer for turn signals and wire it direct without the converter.

I bet Porsche makes a converter/harness for the Cayenne. Maybe that could work for the 996 if you don't think your current one will.
Of course the Porsche one will have 25 more parts and cost 1 leg and 1/2 lung more. and you wil have to hire one extra acrobat and a contortionist to help mount it.
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:41 PM
  #40  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

I am looking at changing my trailer light to have separate bulbs for turn and stop/tail

I assume I can't use LED or I will get even more trouble, right ?
philooo is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 11:38 AM
  #41  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

You might have less trouble with LEDs on the trailer.
If you use the stock bulbs in the car and LED on the trailer you will not be adding much extra load to the system. The car's light nannies won't think there is a bulb out and the LEDs shouldn't add enough load for them to get in a snit and blow fuses or ...?

I just looked at the converter that you bought. From the literature it looks like it is the right unit for your car. Just pull the power from the + box in the engine compartment and follow the wiring instructions that come with it.
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 11:41 AM
  #42  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

humm I might try to buy a LED tail light set for the trailer then.
That would be the easiest road for me by far. They seem to be cheap. Now I just need to find a good set with separate turn and brake/tail
philooo is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 11:57 AM
  #43  
fpb111
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
fpb111's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 5,280
Default

Use the converter that you bought. It looks like it isolates the trailer power draw from the car's lighting system. That’s a good thing! You need to bring power, right, left, tail, and stop light signals to the converter. If you don't use the converter you will have still have to run wires to the trailer connecter to work all of the trailer lights.
fpb111 is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 02:53 PM
  #44  
p.vanderlinden
User
 
p.vanderlinden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: 40th Anni. South OC, CA
Posts: 276
Default

Use rubber gromets if you are passing electrical wires through sheet metal.

cheers, Paul
p.vanderlinden is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 02:58 PM
  #45  
philooo
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
philooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,310
Default

Thanks Paul, I just bought a set at home depot yesterday. Right now I taped a few times around at that location but grommet is a must indeed or the cable will be cut over time I am sure.
I will post more pics once I have the harness installed properly.
philooo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: willwood trailer hitch install help


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: