New to Forum - Looking for IMS/Clutch Advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2012, 02:53 PM
Rreemo
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Forum - Looking for IMS/Clutch Advice

Hello Fellows,
I've been reading on this forum (as well as a few others) for about the past year since I bought my 996 but just never registered and posted anything...I think that probably classifies me as a lurker!

Nevertheless, I have an 02' C2 that has had the original clutch/IMS up until last weekend/85K miles. I've known it was on it's way out feeling the heavier/higher release pedal for the past month or so, but it's not a daily driver...I did push it a little too hard this past weekend and finished off the clutch. However it's kind of bitter/sweet for me b/c I've been worrying about the IMS for a while now anyway...so this is just going to force me to address it.

Although never on Porsches, I used to be an L1 dealership mechanic by trade (now in the software industry), have also spent quite a bit of time racing, and built many engines (Primarily American V8's), Manual and Auto Trans, a lot of suspension work, and I even do some fabricaiton work as well...I spend most of my hobby time restoring cars from the American muscle and classic truck era. All this to say...I have a pretty well equipped shop to work in, including a lift....so I will be taking this project on myself. (My old man is a TV repair man with an awesome set of tools....I can fix it! )

I've searched and read a lot of threads (props to Shark Attack on his very imformative write-up), and from what I've learned I think I know about what all I'll be needing, but this is where I'd like to hear more from you guys....

- Clutch Kit (Disk, Plate, and Bearing)
- New Flywheel (opinions seems to be about 50/50 on going with stock vs LWFW, at this point I'm thinking to play it safe and just go stock, though).
- IMS Retro Fit (Most likely Flat-6, but I do see some others mentioned)
- RMS