Sponsored by:

headlight scratch removal

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2011, 12:08 PM
stairmasterman911
Racer

Received 32 Likes on 9 Posts
Default headlight scratch removal

so i bought both the 3M and mother's headlight scratch/polish kits yesterday due to an inability to decide. anyone have a preference. i'm a dentist so i figure i spend half my life polishing stuff so how hard can it be? stand back girls! no seriously, should this be left to someone who really knows what they are doing?
Old 06-08-2011, 01:50 PM
j beede
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You will achieve great short term results with either one... the polishing is the easy part. Replacing the clear coat that keeps the lens clear--there's where the problem lies. If I polish only, the clarity is maintained for 2-3 weeks. By 3 months the lens is yellow and hazy--worse than before since the polishing process removes any remnant of the original clear coat. The Turtle Wax kit includes a single use clear coat "towelette" that is used after polishing. I get maybe double the duration using the Turtle Wax kit. I get less yellowing with the clear coat (UV filtering?) but the hazing returns...just a little more slowly. Anyone know the chemistry of the clear coat?
Old 06-08-2011, 01:55 PM
sandersd
Pro

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Been there, done that

Originally Posted by stairmasterman911
so i bought both the 3M and mother's headlight scratch/polish kits yesterday due to an inability to decide. anyone have a preference. i'm a dentist so i figure i spend half my life polishing stuff so how hard can it be? stand back girls! no seriously, should this be left to someone who really knows what they are doing?
Funny you should mention that. I just did mine last weekend. Well, I finished one of the lights anyway. The reason I didn't finish both is the 3M kit is only suitable for light discoloring and I had to make a few runs searching for sandpaper to do the job properly.