02 996 tiptronic noise??

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2008, 11:10 AM
rsrmike
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 996 tiptronic noise??

Hello all,

Newbie here. I have a question about a 02 996 C4 cab. I've used the search feature here and have already learned tons of stuff about these great cars in the last few hours. My question pertains to the tiptronic. My friend is looking at purchasing this car and wanted me to "look it over". I realize it will need to go to a competant "indy" to recieve a proper inspection. However, I have a few questions which may save us the bother of going that far(meaning we may may pass on the car altogether)

I have read on here that there were some problems w/ 02 tiptronics? This car has 35,900 miles. The engine runs fantastic, There is a terrible noise at light throttle below 2000rpm in mostly 3,4,5 gears. It seems to be more pronounced in "manual" mode, but will also do it in "auto".

The noise is a terrible rumble, sort of like "crushing rocks", with a slight metallic "tinny" sound mixed in. It reminds me of a 964/993 manual transmission with a clubsport/RS solid flywheel, aside from the "tin" sound. I'm familiar w/ older aircooled models but unfortunately quite ignorant to these newer cars. I first thought the sound was a loose connection between the torque converter and the flywheel/ringgear? I got under the car and could not see any access to the flywheel, aside from two square rubber plugs in the bottom of the bellhousing. I pulled those and looked inside, also swabbed my finger around in both holes looking for fluid or debris. I didn't see much fluid, aside from very light "sweating", but not enough to even make a drop of fluid. I also noticed just a few tiny shiny metal flakes, but again, really just a few, so who knows where they came from or if they are "normal" The underside of the car is very dry and it appears the engine and transmission have never been removed.