996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Changing Brake Pads-How not to do it.

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2007, 06:24 PM
shustermeister
Racer

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Changing Brake Pads-How not to do it.

So I wait until the night before the CMP track event to change brake pads on my C4S, which I've never done before. I've changed pads on numerous other cars, even with Brembos, so I figure no big deal.

An hour and a half later, after struggling to get the pads out of the first caliper, the first pad releases with help of a big screwdriver and some leverage. But there's torn metal on some strange looking round discs attached to the outside of the pad. Not a great time to find out that there are some stupid vibration dampers in there, and now the pieces that ripped off are stuck inside the pistons of the caliper. I've never seen anything like these on any brake pad I've ever changed, and certainly didn't expect them to be in there.
In all my searches for 996 brake pad changes, I haven't found a single mention of these darn things.

So, off comes the caliper, which I know is normally not required. Second pad comes out easily now. I get 2 of the 3 broken pieces out of the pistons, but the third is stubborn. I try a screwdriver, a magnet, a bent coat hanger - it won't budge. So I try the worst option - go press the brake pedal, and maybe it will push out - this should not have been in my list of options. Piston falls out of caliper, fresh superblue fluid dripping all over the floor.
So now I have to completely disconnect the caliper from the lines - and my old set of brake line wrenches doesn't have a 10mm. Time for the channel locks, as my regular wrenches are doing a dandy job of rounding off the corners of the nut for the line to the back of the caliper.