Sponsored by:

Question on Pinnacle detailing products

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2007, 07:24 PM
Tippy
Race Car

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Question on Pinnacle detailing products

My friend bought me a Pinnacle clay bar kit with the bar and lubricant for my birthday, he says this stuff is the best from what he has read on his M3/bimmer forum. Is it?

The bar says ultra fine detailing poly clay on it, the lubricant says Pinnacle natural brilliance.

The clay bar is around a credit card in size and about a 1/2" thick.

Another question, is the bar only good for one use?

I am a total noobie to detailing and I have a lot to read up on and search but is this bar too fine for a first time detailing job? TIA Cory
Old 06-03-2007, 07:37 PM
Ranger
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The claybar will probably be fine. The thing that I would focus on with clay bars is that once they get some grit in them, they can do a lot of damage. So take your clay bar and pull it in half. Store one half in a ziplock bag for use next fall.

With the half that you are planning to use, just keep a watchful eye for what kind of contamination gets into it, by rubbing it on various things that seem to be adhering to your paint. At some point you are going to say to yourself, I think I just got some dirt in it. Then you have to have the discipline to throw it away and go get the other half of the bar from the ziplock bag. If you don't throw away a claybar that has gotten some dirt in it, you'll have cause to regret it for as long as you own that car.
Old 06-03-2007, 08:10 PM
DFC
Rennlist Member