Sponsored by:

Struggling with ignition coil replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2018, 09:38 PM
montauk
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Struggling with ignition coil replacement

I decided to replace the plugs and coils on my C4S. I looked at the DIY on Pelican and decided it would be an easy job. Man was I wrong. I just bought this car a week ago and this is my first project. Looking at the photos on Pelican, it really seemed easy. Maybe it is for other 996's but not for mine. The exhaust and muffler brackets make getting to the rear coils and plugs extremely difficult. My car has factory PSE. It looks like I'll have to take off most of the exhaust system to get to the rear most plugs/coils.

I don't mind tearing up my knuckles if I can leave the exhaust alone but it doesn't seem possible. Any suggestions?
Old 11-30-2018, 09:39 PM
808Bill
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 543 Posts

Drop the engine a few inches.
Old 11-30-2018, 09:55 PM
Ahsai
Nordschleife Master

Received 62 Likes on 47 Posts

Originally Posted by montauk
I decided to replace the plugs and coils on my C4S. I looked at the DIY on Pelican and decided it would be an easy job. Man was I wrong. I just bought this car a week ago and this is my first project. Looking at the photos on Pelican, it really seemed easy. Maybe it is for other 996's but not for mine. The exhaust and muffler brackets make getting to the rear coils and plugs extremely difficult. My car has factory PSE. It looks like I'll have to take off most of the exhaust system to get to the rear most plugs/coils.

I don't mind tearing up my knuckles if I can leave the exhaust alone but it doesn't seem possible. Any suggestions?
Yes, it's supposed to be difficult (at least for the first time). Removing the mufflers will help a bit but really not needed. Almost all done by feel. Your best bet is a set of good 3/8" drive extensions (e.g., 4" wobble extension) and those mini 1/4" drive sockets to remove the coil bolts.