Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

New guy looking to buy a 996. Be nice...

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2018, 12:28 AM
1st 911
6th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New guy looking to buy a 996. Be nice...

Good evening. I am somewhat new to Porsche but looking at a 996 Tipronic.I had back in 06 leased a silver cayman s from Suncoast Porsche here in Sarasota, FL. It was a awful car. Way too many issues to even list and was not happy. I want back into Porsche but not to rent but to own. I really do not have a budget but it will be a car that gets driven maybe 5,000 miles per year so need to buy anything new. Also, I love the 996 and people think I am crazy for it. I have not driven one yet but I have my eye set on a 2001 with 60,000 miles. Everyone tells me stay away because of the IMS but honestly is it that big of a deal? Other then that what should I be looking for? Any links to a buyers guide? Are these cars DIY friendly? What tunes are out there while keeping it sane and reliable?
Old 07-21-2018, 01:20 AM
TexSquirrel
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 2,389 Likes on 1,266 Posts

996 are great cars.
Theyre one of 5he best car deals available!
They are easy to DIY.
IMS is overblown.
Just find a good example and then replace the IMS with an improved design.
Get a PPI before buying.
Old 07-21-2018, 06:51 AM
searching4996
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you’re inclined to DYI these are great cars to do it on, and you’ll get lots of great advice on this site. IMS is not overblown IMO , but fixable now with a reasonable level of risk at the price points now available. good luck!
Old 07-21-2018, 09:10 AM
Marv
Rennlist Member

Received 994 Likes on 528 Posts

These are fine cars, but...

Like any car that is 15 to 20 years old, you will be doing maintenance.

Have a pre-purchase inspection on anything you buy by an independent shop or a reputable dealer.