Bent first gear

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2002, 06:17 AM
mags993tt
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Bent first gear

Hi guys,

I have read a few times about first gear getting bent from over exuberant standing starts and I guess the 4WD means all the power gets transferred into the gear box rather than tyre smoke...I'm wondering if the PO did a few of these - My gear lever vibrates from side to side in first gear sometimes under power though other times it hardly vibrates at all - I imagine that means one or two teeth are bent but the others are ok and it is just luck in terms of which teeth are used every time I engage first gear? I'm not a mechanic so I may be speaking crap...

So... 1)Is this indeed what my symptoms indicate. 2)If I leave it will it get worse/ruin something else/is it bad 3)How much work is involved in fixing it - how expensive is it / is it worth it? The gear box is otherwise very smooth, engages all gears very easily and doesn't balk or crunch from first to second cold or hot as many on the 993 forum seem to suffer from so I am loathe to do anything if not essential for fear of messing something else up...

Many thanks in advance
M
Old 03-13-2002, 12:15 PM
Anthony_Vince
Advanced

I believe there was a first gear update on the '97 model, essentially strengthening it so as to prevent warping. Perhaps this is the update you need.. Common sense suggests that if something is worn or measurably getting worse then theres a good chance other components will get affected in the gearbox. Bitter experience suggests it will probably be expensive (£1500+).

My car used to make a whining noise in 1st, I was told by AFN this happened alot when they were new, they would change them under warranty but the noise persisted.

I would monitor the noise over time for a while, perhaps change the gearbox oil and see if anything metallic comes out.

good luck
Old 03-13-2002, 12:56 PM
mags993tt
Instructor