Cooling fan problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2003, 07:13 AM
ataman
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Cooling fan problem

I bought a 993 Porsche year of 1995 Carrera 2 Manual Drive last month. Sometimes, after stopping the engine, the cooling fan (I guess) is still working and it never stops unless I unplug the wire from heat sensor. My car technican told me that he had changed heat sensor and according to his explain maybe the new sensor was defective. According to his advice; after unplugging I have to make a short circuit on that plug using a piece of wire.
1. What is your opinion about working cooling fan problem?
2. Do you think technician's guess is correct?

Lastly, since I am a novice on Porsche, sorry my using wrong/or mismatched word.

Regards,
Old 10-29-2003, 09:04 AM
Flying Finn
King of Cool
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

First, one question: Does it run "forever" or just for 5-15 minutes?

1. If not "forever", that is normal.
2. If not "forever", your next question is: "where to find good Porsche mechanic in my area?"

Last edited by Flying Finn; 10-29-2003 at 09:20 AM.
Old 10-29-2003, 09:21 AM
Robin 993DX
Rennlist
Lifetime Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

The heat sensor located on the left side heater duct may be defective, if it is defective it will cause the engine bay cooling fan to stay on.

The below picture shows a partial picture of the sensor where the screw driver is pointed at.

Old 10-29-2003, 12:04 PM
Tom Pepper
Addict
Rennlist Member

Did your new purchase of the 95 993 include the updated wiring harness? If not, all electrical gremlins should be attributed to the harness untill proven otherwise.
Old 10-29-2003, 12:24 PM
ataman
Addict
Rennlist Member

1. The problem occurs eventhough I don't drive.. The fun works whenever I turn ignition on and it doesn't stop unless I unplugged fun motor's power.