Sponsored by:

Need tire model and sizing advice for C2S

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2016, 12:34 AM
mmporsche
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Need tire model and sizing advice for C2S

I am new to the 993 world but not to Porsche. I have owned a number of 911s and have raced for 15 years. My question to the community is what is the best street tire, cost no object, for a 1998 993 C2S. I have the factory hollow spoke wheels in stock size. Not sure how wide they are to be honest. I also have questions about sizing. Tire Rack shows a 225 in the front and a 285 rear. I am having a fairly aggressive alignment added and will have the car lowered to a nice stance with reasonable negative camber (no aftermarket suspension bits so nothing outside the range possible with factory suspension). I am running Bilstein HD shocks and recently added a cup LSD. This will NOT be a track car, rather I plan to use it for spirited canyon drives, date nights with the wife, etc. I want something that will handle really well but also be quiet. I typically like Michelin and have my eyes on PS2s but want to make sure I am making a good choice. So please let me know the best sizes, if not factory and brand and model of tires you like and why. Thank you!
Old 03-03-2016, 01:32 AM
Knight
Drifting

Received 74 Likes on 42 Posts

If $ aren't a concern then I think your spot on with PS2 in factory sizes (225/285). I'm sure many would agree the Supersports would be preferred but no sizing.

If you do a quick search you'll see many favour the Sumis and their biggest highlight is value. Hankooks are also popular although I don't think they are available in factory sizes. 235/295 is also a good option for these brands given they are slimmer tires overall.

I've heard good things about the Bridgestone RE11s but yet to try them myself.

Congrats on the 2S!
Old 03-03-2016, 01:36 AM
quacktoduck
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts