Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Issue.. Need Advice Please!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2003, 03:28 PM
jamfish
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Brake Issue.. Need Advice Please!

Dear Rennlisters:

I am the proud owner of a 1996 993 with 39K miles. I am the second owner, but the car was and has always been maintained by the local Porsche dealership where I live. As you will notice when you read this, I am not a mechanic and I know only enough to not necessarily trust what I hear coming from the dealer's mouth.

I recently took my 96 993 to the dealer to have the infamous wiring harness recall work done. While my car was there, I thought I would have them check out my brakes...This may have been a big mistake.

The reason I wanted them to check the brakes was because I had been noticing some play in pedal and the need to pump the brakes a little bit before they would grab at the spot where you would normally expect them to. Also, sometime you could hear the brake squeak. My first thought was that I was low on brake fluid and sure enough it needed to be topped off. No problem. I ordered some ATE TYP 200 brake fluid and filled the reservoir. According to owner's manual it is normal to loose some brake fluid over time.

After that the brakes didn't really squeak much anymore, and the play in the pedal improved somewhat, but not where it should be. My next thought was that maybe some air got into the lines and it would either go away eventually, or possibly the brakes would need to be bled.