Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Seattle Help - Anyone experienced in bolt extraction???

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 07:45 PM
TravisB
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seattle Help - Anyone experienced in bolt extraction???

Throwing up an APB for a little help here..

I'm a pretty seasoned amateur wrench but one thing I've managed to never need to do is extract broken bolts..and I've run in to some seized fasteners on the left side of the engine (two for the engine shroud, one intake bolt, and the engine tin bolt on the AC bracket). They're all broken off flush. Irony being yesterday I was at the parts store looking at the bolt extractors thinking "I wonder if I should pick up a set of those..naaaaaahhh"

The stakes are pretty high here for me so if I could get some help I would certainly be grateful! I am on vacation until the 3rd and this is all I've got on my agenda, so my schedule is totally open..thanks in advance!!!!
Old 12-28-2011, 08:27 PM
berni29
Pro

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Hi There

Bolt extractors are a waste of time in my humble opinion, and not worth the risk as after they have broken off you cannot drill them out and are then fully stuffed.

I would drill them out. With reverse drill bits if possible. Make up a jig if you can find something suitable. This is one I made up when doing a couple of snapped exhaust studs (on my back under the car). It was part of a plastic jig sold for drilling in wood.

Berni
Old 12-28-2011, 08:45 PM
speedy88
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Travis,

If you can get a drill down there, use a reverse drill bit. They are sold at Tacoma Screw. Good luck.
Old 12-28-2011, 08:58 PM
IXLR8
Rennlist Member

Received 678 Likes on 474 Posts

Travis, shave the tops of the broken bolts flush and center punch them as accurately as possible. Take your time as this is very important for the next step.