Sponsored by:

Computer won't reset after SAI cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2011, 01:25 PM
fiz140
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Computer won't reset after SAI cleaning

Brief history - The check engine light came on shortly after taking the car out of hibernation this spring. After connecting their 32 bit obdII reader the local porsche shop confirmed that both engine banks seemed to be clogged. A sai cleaning/flush was "successfully" performed with all six ports flowing freely. Less than 400 miles later the check engine light again graced me with it's presence. Back to the shop and this time only one bank, 4-6 comes back with a code. Bear with me now because I am not a mechanic and I am trying to relate this as clearly as possible. The shop tech and the shop owner seemed puzzled because this code would show up very quickly on their scanner. They kept the car overnight and tested again with the engine cold and got the same code for cylinders 4-6. The sai was flushed for a second time and all six ports again flowed freely, but the same 4-6 code. They then replaced the pre-cat O2 sensor for cylinders 4-6 aaand viola no code. This is good, but now the computer will not reset. The tech followed very precise driving instructions in an effort to "reset readiness" and I have driven the car over 300 miles. Still the damn thing will not reset. This is a problem because I have until today to pass emisions. So now I have a nice clean engine but I can't pass emissions until the computer is ready - insert your "not tonight honey I have a headache" jokes here. Thoughts and opinions please.

Thanks,

Fiz
Old 04-30-2011, 02:00 PM
rpaitich
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Fiz,