Anyone Actually Change to a "Size A" Lighter Socket ? - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Air/Oil Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 993 Forum
Reload this Page > Anyone Actually Change to a "Size A" Lighter Socket ?
Notices

Anyone Actually Change to a "Size A" Lighter Socket ?

Reply

Old 04-03-2011, 03:03 PM
  #1
David in Chicago
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
David in Chicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Default Anyone Actually Change to a "Size A" Lighter Socket ?

The plugs from my Valentine V1 and my Porsche Tequipment Charge-O-Mat won't stay plugged into my car's lighter socket.

The reason, as has been well documented here, is the 993's larger, "size B" cigarette lighter socket/plug, by contrast with the smaller and more-common "size A," which seems to be the size used by both Valentine and C-Tek (makers of the Charge-O-Mat) and, it seems, everyone else.

Previous posts have suggested that the 996 and 997 lighter sockets are in the more-common "size A" and, thus, would eliminate problems with electrical accessories fitting into the lighter socket, so :

1. Is it correct that the 996/997 parts are the smaller "size A"? and

2. Has anyone actually changed their 993's cigarette lighter socket to the late-model 996 part (p/n: 996-652-101-10) or the 997 part (p/n: 955-652-107-00)? and

3. How was the fit? According to the PET diagrams, both parts are shaped quite differently than the 993 part.

TIA for the assist.

Regards to all.
David in Chicago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 03:28 PM
  #2
freeman
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 814
Default

As you will see from an adjacent post, I solved the problem with a sleeve. Unfortunately, yesterday the guts came out with the sleeve. I am awaiting answers from our friends.
freeman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:14 PM
  #3
David in Chicago
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
David in Chicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Default

It's the various "sleeves" and tape-shimming solutions I'm trying to avoid. Your experience is one reason why.
David in Chicago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:26 PM
  #4
steve porter
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
steve porter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 222
Default

To aviod this issue I tapped into the seat wiring and fitted a multi socket under the seat .phone etc can sit in the console, I then ran an extension cord from this under the carpet to the dash for the GPS ,keeps the dash clean and doesn`t stuff up your cig lighter socket
steve porter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:19 AM
  #5
David in Chicago
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
David in Chicago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Default

Monday morning bump ?
David in Chicago is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:54 PM
  #6
Warpig
User
 
Warpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Schaumburg, IL.
Posts: 548
Default

Also keep in mind that if you change the socket, you will need to change the plug on the Porsche air pump for your spare tire.
Warpig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 01:34 AM
  #7
richardew
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
richardew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 693
Default

I've been using a V1 in my car since I purchased it. I've always needed at least 2 outlets, 4 presently (phone, GPS, V1, XM). The cord from the 3 outlet thing I have now fits O'k. I've always been able to find plugs that don't fall out, either from the adapter or from the extension cord.
richardew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 04:04 AM
  #8
Floodj
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Floodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Steve,
Which wire did you tap into under the seat?
Thanks,
--Joe
Floodj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:01 AM
  #9
steve porter
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
steve porter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 222
Default

Originally Posted by Floodj View Post
Steve,
Which wire did you tap into under the seat?
Thanks,
--Joe
Hi Joe , I just unplugged the seat wiring harness and found the live wire with a multimeter. As the seat wiring is always on I also wired in an isolation switch and mounted it in the plastic shroud under the front of the seat.
steve porter is offline  
Reply With Quote
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bobs95
Parts Marketplace
3
11-30-2016 12:05 PM
993PET
997 GT2/GT3 Forum
1
11-13-2016 12:49 PM
Stephen Childs
Porsche Cayenne Forum
1
08-12-2016 11:20 AM
pilotjosh
Parts Marketplace
3
05-31-2016 05:09 PM
tdiferrari
993 Forum
6
07-17-2010 11:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Copyright ę 1998 - 2017 Rennlist.com
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: