Public Safety, or Revenue Generation

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 08:00 PM
CP
Race Director

Received 334 Likes on 239 Posts
Default Public Safety, or Revenue Generation

Hi,

Today about 12 noon, I drove from San Ramon to Santa Clara. On 38 miles of south bound freeway when the mid-day traffic was quite free-flowing, I saw 6 cops (3 bikes, 3 cruisers) sitting by the road side with radar guns trained on the traffic. Four were in groves of trees sitting at bottom of down-hill grades shooting up-hill.

I am now a VERY conservative driver, rarely going above 70 MPH and always on the right lanes, so I have no issues with these finest by the road-side. However, my devious little brain could not resist but wonder: are they there to make sure the freeway is free-flowing, and the drivers are safe, or that some un-named state department could use all the 'voluntary contribution' the public will offer?

I'm telling you, I'm fast loosing my desire for open road adventures. Good thing we did our epic Dallas drive this last spring.

Please be safe out there.

CP
Old 09-09-2008, 08:03 PM
AOW162435
Seared
Rennlist Member

Received 415 Likes on 233 Posts

$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Pure & simple.

Andreas
Old 09-09-2008, 08:10 PM
Bill Verburg
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 547 Likes on 380 Posts

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$4

It's happening everywhere. My little town has always been a very laid back, hands off place. A cop was as likely to just make slowing hand motions as stop and ticket.