Sponsored by:

sirius satellite radio

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 10:36 AM
sman911
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sirius satellite radio

Hey guys... I have the stock Becker radio in my 98 993. I need to install a Sirius setup. Any suggestions? Crutchfield had recommended an Alpine to replace the original Thoughts??
Old 05-06-2008, 10:58 AM
JasonF
Burning Brakes

I had a Becker Trafficpro recently installed along with a hardwired Sirius Starmate Replay. As you can see from the pic, the Sirius headunit is attached to the left vent grill. Since I'm an open-window driver I don't miss any cooling that would come out of the vent and I can still have access to the gas tank lid lever and headlight swtich.

After trying several different locations for the sirius unit, I settled on this location since it's the most out of the way, but still easy to change stations. I'll take update photos of the setup later, the wires are now totally hidden.
Attached Images  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:35 AM
sman911
Intermediate

Jason, I forgot to mention that I would prefer something that integrates the satellite radio into the receiver. I just sold a 2003 M5 that was setup like that. With the radar detector on the windshield, I don't want to have a seperate unit mounted on the dash.
Old 05-06-2008, 12:07 PM
CarreraX
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 29 Likes on 18 Posts

i have an extra starmate unit like the one pictured that I will sell cheap. It is new and I was going to put it in the X% but I went all factory instead.
Old 05-06-2008, 12:35 PM
JasonF
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by sman911
Jason, I forgot to mention that I would prefer something that integrates the satellite radio into the receiver. I just sold a 2003 M5 that was setup like that. With the radar detector on the windshield, I don't want to have a seperate unit mounted on the dash.