OT: trip to Hawaii

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2007, 01:42 AM
Peqoud
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: trip to Hawaii

Howdy,

Going to Kuai in June with my girl. I'm a pilot by day and would love to rent a small plane to see the island and perhaps make a flight to Oahu. Anyone here ever done this? Anyone on Rennlist live in Hawaii? Would'nt mind driving a porsche there too! When you're in SoCal Laguna Beach area you can drive mine. Anyway would love some advice etc. Always nice to know some people when you get there. We're staying in Poipu Beach area. Can't wait - never been.

Cheers,

Nick
Old 05-17-2007, 04:24 AM
Father of 3
Addict
Rennlist Member

Kelly Kim is from Kauai.
Old 05-17-2007, 11:19 AM
g_murray
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Went to Oahu and Kuai last May '06.
Kuai is quite small. You'd be better off hopping in a car or taking a local tour bus to see the sights -- like the Wiamea Canyon, Wailua Falls and the Spouting Horn (which sounds like a dragon.)
There are more golf courses on Kuai than you can shake a 5 iron at!

Renting a Skyhawk (or similar) would be overkill, IMHO. I also fly and entertained the thought - but decided to bag the flying and instead - 'car' it. Mucho better.

Oh yeah, when you're there -- watch out for the chickens -- there's hundreds wandering around!

Gerry
(CPL-A/S-MEL-IA)
Old 05-17-2007, 11:31 AM
Land Jet
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I've been to Hawaii a number of times when I lived in California. Driving a Porsche there is kind of overkill, in my opinion. The police are very vigilant about speed, and on Maui, the limit is 45 mph. I'm not sure what it is on Kauai, but imagine it's the same. There are other things to be interested in while in Hawaii; beach, ocean, nature, etc. One of the most wonderful places I've ever been and am hoping to move there in the not to distant future. Enjoy!
Old 05-17-2007, 11:52 AM
Wilder
Rennlist Member