Remote vs immobilizer vs battery Issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2007, 09:07 PM
C9RN
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remote vs immobilizer vs battery Issues

I'll do my best to describe the issues and hope you can help w/ 97 993 C4 cab:
#1 if i don't start my car at least weekly--the battery is weak at best. Right now battery is dead. (Battery < 6 mo old)
#2 I am no longer able to elicit any response from my key remote to lock/unlock car despite frequent A23 battery changes.
#3 I am unable to jump start the car because the key remote had only enough energy to lock the car but not unlock it.
#4 where should I start? replace the R61 relay? I am not a mechanic--obviously--just want to be smart about how to get out of this mess before going to a dealership/local mechanic.
#5 what could be wrong in the "recieving unit"?
#6 I only have one key/remote--Appreciate any advice you may have
"miserable in Pinehurst"
Old 05-07-2007, 09:15 PM
cesar
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You need to get a Battery Tender Plus from amazon.com.

If your car battery is dead, nothing is getting unlocked with the remote and you'll have to manually unlock it. I'm not sure what will happen once you get get juice in the battery as typically the alarm goes off when you open the door with the key. I guess at that point, you can press the remote to disarm the alarm.

My father's towncar had his battery dead, I took my Batter Tender Plus over to his and let it charge over night. Next day it was fine. I charged it all week just to be safe and ordered him a charger from amazon.com for 45.95 no tax and free shipping.
Old 05-07-2007, 11:18 PM
Garth S
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

I suspect that you either have a bad battery, alternator not charging correctly, or a low amperage draw short to ground.