Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

Solved: Engine back in & let's play name that problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2006, 10:23 PM
AM993
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Hmm, I am not an expert but had the same problem with my car after my shop did the suspension upgrade back in August. They had to unplug the temp sensor on the left side of the engine compartment to access the top of the rear left suspensionwithout damaging the wiring harness. I looked carefully at the connector and figured out that it was not the correct connector (looked slightly different from before, it was missing the rubber/weather protection). I went fishing underneath the heater blower and found the correct connector hanging (not connected anywhere). I took the car back to the shop and after a few minutes the tech advised that they had incorrectly replugged the temperature sensor (wrong plug) and that the "incorrect" was not applicable to my car (meaning would stay unplugged). The tech explained that the wiring harness for the 993 is a standard product and therefore will fit any 993, with any option and for any market, meaning that there are a bunch of connectors that are not plugged). After plugging the correct connector, no more problem. Is it possible that you replugged the wrong connector?
Old 12-27-2006, 10:32 PM
tonytrini
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by chris walrod
Remove and reconnect the sensor on the heater blower tube, near the ballast resistor. Its a black, spring wire type connector. Try reseating it and see what happens.
I had the same issue when I did my suspension. The connector was loose and the fan would run for extra 20 mins or so before cutting off. It resumed normal operation when it was correctly seated.
Old 12-28-2006, 12:47 AM
MarkD
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Very intersting to hear others have had the same issue.