993 Forum 1995-1998

Cracked Fikse wheel

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2006, 01:26 AM
neunneundrei
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cracked Fikse wheel

Ok, so I did a dumbass move this summer when I drove to Boston. Because there doesn't exist a single straight street, my bloody GPS had me missing the hotel by one intersection - to the point that I backed up the car through the intersection like a tough guy and, oops, scraped the rear wheel against the curb - in front of a really nice hotel with an attendant being really polite! (Insert icon here that's a person holding their fingers in an "L" shape at their forehead... )

Anyway, back to the point of the topic, I was planning to return the wheel to Fikse to get the outer rim fixed up and as I was washing the wheel I noticed a wonderful crack on the inside - it goes right from the edge of the rim to the inside - probably about 1" or so.

I've heard of this thing before re: the Fikse's - anyone else had or heard of the same problem? I wouldn't think that the negative camber would have anything to do with it...I just hope Fikse fixes it up right...I would think it's also fairly dangerous as I'm flying along.
Old 12-19-2006, 01:58 AM
JStuart
Instructor

Default Just call them

They are a really great bunch and I'm sure they will make it right for you.

Jay
Old 12-19-2006, 02:17 AM
Jay993turbo
Instructor

Mine cracked and bent about once every 3 months for a year until I finally got Fikse to buy them back from me. Swithced to BBS and have been trouble free ever since.

Fikse are a great bunch and will fix the cracks for free, if there are any bends they will likely fix those for free as well, out of courtesy.

Truth be told, this is a common problem with street use on these wheels.

Jay
Old 12-19-2006, 09:10 AM
KOAN
Rennlist Member

Received 159 Likes on 110 Posts