993 Forum 1995-1998

Battery Draw Lesson Learned

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2006, 12:39 PM
jimbo3
Rennlist Member

Received 671 Likes on 400 Posts
Default Battery Draw Lesson Learned

Frustrated with having to charge the battery before each use after the car sits for a week or two, a friend of mine and I studied the situation and I learned the following:

-At rest, the residual draw is .02 amps (20 mA)
-If you leave the keys in the ignition like I USED to do, residual draw is .09 amps (90 mA). That's almost 1/10 of an amp being drained every hour, or almost 2 amps a day. Results in the loss of about 1/10 of a volt off the battery per day.
-OEM sealed battery is one tough battery to take the abuse I've inadvertantly given it over the past year.
-Battery Maintainer should arrive via UPS today.

-Jim
Old 12-04-2006, 12:52 PM
tj90
Three Wheelin'

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts

Arent typical car batteries rated around 100 amp-hours? According to your calculations, a battery is completely dead in 100/0.02 = 5000 hrs or 208 days. Leaving the keys in kills the batt in 46 days. Assuming that the battery needs to be at least 50% capacity to start the car, means that you have 104 days (23 leaving keys in) before the car will not start.

I must be wrong in my estimates cause this seems optimistic. I start to get worried with the car sitting for more than 2 weeks - maybe the batt is 1) not fully charged 2) aged and sulfated 3) my assumptions may be off or 4) the current draw is more when opening doors, hoods, playing with power seats when cleaning the car in the garage....
Old 12-04-2006, 12:54 PM
TomF
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 149 Likes on 128 Posts

Your insurance company wouldn't like to hear that you leave the keys in the ignition! LOL

Check the draw on your stereo. I can go weeks without any issues at all. An improperly installed aftermarket system can draw the battery down in days.

The maintainer is a great idea, IMHO.
Old 12-04-2006, 12:54 PM