993 Forum 1995-1998

C4S: RWD Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 04:10 AM
adams993
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question C4S: RWD Conversion

Hey guys, sorry but I couldnt find anything in a search. I am wondering what is involved in converting my car to RWD. How much will it cost...what parts are needed? Can I do the mod myself? How much weigh will I save? Is it a bad idea here in Rainy Seattle, WA? I kinda feel that my AWD doesnt work all that well anyhow....if a Rev up and drop the clutch at all, the rear tires screetch quite a bit. Anyhow, sorry for my ignorance...I appreciate any insight/advice/information!
ADAM
Old 06-07-2006, 04:15 AM
Phil
Phlat Black Guru
Rennlist
Lifetime Member
- Times 2

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

when you "rev it up and drop the clutch"....at what rpm are you doing it at?........
Old 06-07-2006, 05:10 AM
jmayzurk
Rennlist Member

Viper Bob has a RWD conversion kit. I have no experience with the conversion (though I suspect I'll end up there someday, probably when I do my clutch), but supposedly he uses all factory parts and it's a fairly straightforward conversion. The weight savings is around 110 lbs.

You may need to make some compensatory changes in your suspension to make the car handle "correctly," however. Again, contact VB for details.

As far as your rear tires screeching when you drop the clutch:

1. Your car is not a dragster. Stop that. You'll end up with a broken transaxle.