Need Help Identifying Mysterious Occasional Pinging

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006, 05:48 PM
rdurff
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need Help Identifying Mysterious Occasional Pinging

Hi Folks,

I'm new to 993s, having just traded in my practical daily driver for a lovely guard's red '96 Carrera. I'm a longtime Porsche owner though (still have a '75 911s as well) and am very slowly getting used to all the differences in the newer car. This forum has been of great help and I just purchased a membership.

Anyhow, I need help identifying a mysterious pinging noise and am hoping someone here has seen something similar.
  • Pinging only occurs under significant load, for example when cruising leisurely in 5th and then downshifting to 3rd and really getting on the throttle
  • Pinging is not constant, but just a few pings during said hard acceleration
  • Confirmed that both ignition systems are working correctly and that this is not a distributor connecting belt issue
  • Have driven the car with a Bosch hammer hooked up, timing appears to be adjusting correctly and knock sensors show no unusual behavior
  • Running the car on the best Seattle has to offer, i.e. 91 octane Shell and Chevron
  • Have run at least 1 tank through the car with an extra dose of Techron
  • Car has 48k miles on it and is in great shape overall, no leaks or smoke
  • Had new plugs, caps, rotors, filters, and fluids done at the time of purchase

I've been working with a great local independent mechanic to identify the root cause, and we haven't found anything definitive yet. He did discover that the resistor for the low fan speed on the oil cooler is dead, so I'm having that replaced. Pinging is certainly increased when the car is hotter, but I've looked at other posts here and don't think it runs that hot generally (pretty cool in Seattle).

Just wanted to throw it out there and see if anyone else has solved similar pinging issues and has something to add.

Thanks!
-Robert