Sponsored by:

A newbie's faith in a PPI

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2005, 10:06 AM
Gregory993
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A newbie's faith in a PPI

As I mentioned in my last thread, I just purchased a '95 993 and had a PPI done by a local P dealer. I had a lot of faith in Porsche and their techs; before the inspection, I spoke with the person about to do it and said I am considering buying this vehicle, please be as thorough as possible in your inspection. I am completely new to Porsche and your inspection will be the deciding factor on whether or not I purchase this car.

Well, I put too much faith in the dealer and after bringing the car to my friend's shop for my own look (mind you, I OWN the vehicle now) I was disappointed not so much with the car as with the dealer and myself for trusting them too much.

BTW: I did indeed find a place that had the oil filters so I changed the oil while I was at it. The filters I pulled out were different brands: on the engine was a "CHAMP"(?) filter and the oil bag had another type. The looked clean but the person who'd changed it was a total hack; there were missing screws in the inner fender, the bolt for the bottom of the skirt near the drain was gone and the drain plug was knurled as if the guy was to lazy to put down his SAE wrench and get the right tool. There was a Sunoco sticker with the "next service date". Lovely.

Back to the PPI: I dropped the car off in the morning and picked it up 6hrs later and waited to speak with the tech. It was a long 6hrs because I didn't know if I'd have a "new" car or would be back online looking. I let this guy make the decision for me. I trusted he would be a meticulous as I am. He wasn't.