Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Powder Coating Wheels vs Painting.....

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2005, 11:02 PM
Baggerdude
Burning Brakes

Received 29 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Powder Coating Wheels vs Painting.....

I spoke with a powder coater last week regarding doing satin black inner portion of my Turbo Twists and a polished lip... then cleared. You'd think I asked for a kidney.

I got the head scratching, chin rubbing, head cocking... yada, yada. Then he says, "This will be pretty 'spensive, bro". I asked why and he started with the taping, the polishing and such. Didn't sound like repairing the Mona Lisa to me. But, BTAIM, I left with his card and a bit dismayed.

I know we've spoken about powder coating on this MB before, but.... I was wondering what the difference between painting the inner area and polishing the lip, then clearing thewholeshebang is vs powder coating and such?

As I understand it (and I'm no expert for sure), powder coating is just "dry painting" and then baking the bits. I understand "painting". I guess some will say that PC is more durable than painting, but the stocker wheels are painted. Correct? If so, that's durable enuf for me.

I believe that painting has more colors and more 'textures' than PC, but I could be incorrect.

Anyone wanna give me an opinion here? Thanx in advance.
Old 04-05-2005, 12:15 AM
Crimson Nape Racing
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post