Sponsored by:

Car cover suggestions needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2004, 12:33 AM
Van1
Drifting

Received 64 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Car cover suggestions needed

I will be storing my 993 this winter and need some advice on what cover to get for indoor use. I have no experience with car covers, so all help is appreciated. Also, advice on where the best place to get one would be appreciated, of course considering any possible site sponsors first.
Old 11-24-2004, 06:00 AM
solsrch
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Lots of options available from lots of folks. Of course, you probably already realize that. If it is indoors, especially if it is not a cab, I'd probably go with one of the cotton/flannel ones. They breathe real well, very soft on the finish, and still protect from dust and minor things like folks bumping into the car while they walk past. Unfortunately, if you have a canvas top, they tend to leave a bunch of lint or fuzzies on the car's top. In that case, I'd go with the synthetic fabric that has some loft, they are also very soft and breathe. My assumption from your signiture line is the flannel/cotton is the best bet. I bought a custom fit cover through Performance a couple of years ago and have been very happy with it.
Old 11-24-2004, 07:21 AM
Monique
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I got a flannel one from Gert Carnewal. It was made to measure because of the RS configuration; front splitters and rear wing.

The color is not exactly a match for my car but it is close. It is Ferrari Red whereas my car is Guards Red. The fit is perfect.

Available in various colors. Euros 195... made to measure
Old 11-24-2004, 11:08 AM
p_carfan
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

I bought a "Covercraft" custom (ie made for the measurements of my car) flannel. Very good fit and very soft it's not for outdoor use though.

Old 11-24-2004, 09:37 PM
DJD
Instructor